Review of 2013, looking forward to 2014

So I managed 43 books from a goal of 52. It all started to slide in September when my working life went a bit mental and never really recovered after that. But I don’t mind, because I read some fabulous books last year. And setting myself a few basic rules (no re-reads, only one book per author, mix up the genres) enabled me to broaden my reading horizons a little.

I found that I like keeping a list of books read and writing a little about them, but I don’t like (can’t be bothered? don’t know how?) to write full blown reviews.

I can’t possibly choose one favorite book out of the 43, but here are my top five; Gilead by Marilynne Robinson, An Instance of the Fingerpost by Iain Pears, Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel, Free Country by George Mahood and A Year of Biblical Womanhood by Rachel Held Evans.

I’m not setting a target for 2014 as I have decided to make this the year of very long books with Les Miserables, Freedom and Necessity, Boswell’s Life of Johnson and Bringing up the Bodies all in my sights among others. I’m also looking forward to getting back to some re-reads.

Oh, and I’m still working my way through Augustine’s confessions.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

