Book 29 – Falling Upward by Richard Rohr

This was a very disappointing book and in hindsight I can’t think what led me to buy it in the first place. I didn’t know much about Richard Rohr when I spotted this next to a Tom Wright that I was buying. I vaguely remembered he’d been at Greenbelt a few years ago and my interest was piqued by the blurb. So I bought.

I found the book condescending, glib and waffly. By Chapter 2 I was thinking this guy may be a Catholic priest n’all but he comes across as pretty gnostic in his outlook (loads of guff about evolving into the “higher self”). So I did a little research and sure enough he’s well known for his new age, syncretist outlook. Which is fine, he’s entitled to his views. But what on earth was this book doing on sale in a cathedral bookshop?!?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

